• The Spark
  • Posts
  • My favorite 'rule' for getting more out of life

My favorite 'rule' for getting more out of life

PLUS: A thoughtful text idea for your partner

The Spark (by Hunter at Show Her Off Dance).

“The love we give away is the only love we keep.” 

~ Elbert Hubbard  

Connecting Conversations

Sometimes a great question is all you need to start a meaningful conversation :)

This weekend, try asking your significant other:

  • How have you seen me grow in this relationship?

  • What are you still unlearning?

  • If you could erase one Hollywood movie from existence, what would it be?

Thoughtful Text

A surprise text can often make someone’s day. Use this prompt as an idea starter to text your partner right now:

Just a reminder I choose you. And I’m going to keep choosing you. I love [a specific character trait or physical feature you admire] about you. Hope you’re having a wonderful day :)

The Growth Lab

The Pareto Principle

One of my favorite principles to revisit is 80/20 Rule or The Pareto Principle.

It’s a great reminder that I can make little changes and achieve big impacts.

For example, I spend 80% of my time in 20% of the rooms in my house. If I were looking at a renovation project it would make sense to first ask is this a 20% room? If it isn’t, I wouldn’t allocate as much budget. If it is, I might double the budget.

Note: It’s not always 80/20, sometimes is 95/5 or 70/30 or even 70/40 etc. The point is it is a smaller input generates a larger result.

Where this can get really interesting is when you start reviewing your previous week and ask:

  • What 20% of my time led to 80% of my happiness for the week?

  • What 20% of people I spent time with led to 80% of my fulfillment?

  • What 20% of people I spent time with led to 80% of my stress?

  • What 20% of my spending last week led to 80% of waste?

The point of these is not to trigger shame or blame, but rather just create an ongoing awareness so we can recognize small easy tweaks for BIG wins.

Hmm, maybe if I spend less time around co-worker Tom this week I’ll feel better. Maybe if I double the time I go for walks this week I’ll 4x toward my health goals?

Tiny hinges open big doors.

Just something to noodle on this week - and if you really want to dig deeper have a discussion with your partner about the 80/20’s in your relationship and how you both an maximize the positives while reducing the negatives - all without a ton of effort, just lil tweaks :)

Whenever you’re ready, there are 2 ways I can help you:

  1. Take on Date Night Dancing 2 & 3 - If you’ve finished Date Night 1 and are ready to add more moves to your dance list checkout Date Night 2 and Date Night 3 for more fun and laughter together right at home.

  2. Sign up for early access to Pocket Date Nights - Brand new Date Night program launching shortly that will have you two laughing, loving and communicating better. No dancing in this program but plenty of fun. Spots are limited.

Keep the spark’s flying,
Hunter Masters
Director of Romance

What did you think of this week’s newsletter?

Your feedback helps me craft a better email every single week.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.