• The Spark
  • Posts
  • 7,000+ ways to say ‘I love you’

7,000+ ways to say ‘I love you’

PLUS: Conversation starters for deeper connection

The Spark (by Hunter at Show Her Off Dance).

“You don’t love someone because they’re perfect, you love them in spite of the fact that they’re not.” 

~ My Sister’s Keeper (movie)   

Connecting Conversations

Sometimes a great question is all you need to start a meaningful conversation :)

This weekend, try asking your significant other:

  • What do you know about life that others may not have figured out yet? 

  • What teacher had the biggest impact on you and why? 

  • Describe a time when you felt proud of me. 

Date Night Idea

There are thousands of ways to say, “I love you.” 

Literally. 

With over 7,000 languages in the world, finding the words shouldn’t be hard. 

But of course, revealing matters of the heart can be difficult. 

This week, why not start learning a new language together? 

Beyond the basics, a good place to begin is with some romantic phrases.

Here are a few to get you started: 

Spanish

  • You’re driving me crazy (in a good way) --> Me estás volviendo loco (“Meh es-tas vol-vee-en-do low-co") 

French

  • You’re the joy of my life --> Tu es ma joie de vivre (“Too eh ma joo-ah de veev-rah”) 

Italian

  • I always think of you --> Ti penso sempre (“Tee penn-soh sehm-preh”)

Portuguese

  • I feel at peace when I’m in your arms --> Quando estou contigo estou nos braços da paz (“Kwan-doo ehs-too kohn-tee-goo ehs-too nohs brah-soos dah pahz”) 

Dothraki (from Game of Thrones): 

  • I love you --> Anha zhilak yera (I have no idea how to pronounce this)

The most popular language apps are Duolingo and Babel

You can also get private online lessons with a company like Preply if you want to learn faster. 

Does your family speak a language we didn’t mention? Reply to this email and let me know how you say, “I love you.”

We’ll feature some of our favorites in the next newsletter!

The Love Lab

I came across The Relationship Paradigm the other day. 

It’s a concept created by Neil Wilkie, a psychotherapist in the UK.  

It’s not mind-bendingly brilliant but I like the way it’s laid out visually. 

Check out the image above. 

So the components of a solid relationship are trust as the foundation, then growth, each individual, commitment, connection, communication and fun. 

If these interlocked elements grow together, then the relationship will be much stronger and more resilient. 

How would you rate your relationship?  

Do you feel good about those elements or are there areas you know could improve? 

If you want to read more about this concept from Neil himself, he wrote a book called Reset: The Relationship Paradigm – Finding a new course after drifting apart

I love that date nights can easily touch on all of these components each and every week! 

Whenever you’re ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. Take on Date Night Dancing 2 & 3 - If you’ve finished Date Night 1 and are ready to add more moves to your dance list checkout Date Night 2 and Date Night 3 for more fun and laughter together right at home.

  2. Sign up for early access to Pocket Date Nights - Brand new Date Night program launching later in May that will have you two laughing, loving and communicating better. No dancing in this program but plenty of fun. Spots are limited.

  3. Promote yourself to 120,000+ subscribers by sponsoring my newsletter.

Keep the spark’s flying,

Hunter Masters

Director of Romance

What did you think of this week’s newsletter?

Your feedback helps me craft a better email every single week.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.